A.R.S. §§ 15-1756 and 32-3248.02 impose obligations on all students attending medical programs in state that make them eligible for DEA registration to complete a minimum three hours of opioid related clinical education hours and on all healthcare professionals who hold an active Drug Enforcement Administration certifications to complete a minimum three hours of opioid-related, substance-use disorder related or addiction related continuing medical education (“CME”) as part of any continuing education requirements for renewal. The Board will begin requiring its licensees to begin meeting the CME requirement in the 2018-2019 renewal cycle.
For additional information regarding the Opioid Epidemic Act, please visit the Office of the Governor Doug Ducey www.azgovernor.gov.
E-Licensing is now Online!
The State has modernize the way we serve the citizens and taxpayers of Arizona. Our Digitize Arizona Initiative focuses on moving services online and enhancing our applications to be more user friendly, which will help citizens more easily connect with the services they need and allow the State do business better and faster. The Board of Podiatry in conjunction with 12 other agencies and the Arizona Department of Administration (ADOA) - Arizona Strategic Enterprise Technology (ASET) Office completed and tested the new e-Licensing System. All active applicants, licensees and certificate holders have received a notice by email of the launching of the new system. Our new e-licensing system streamlines renewals, services requests and allows users to update contact information quickly. Thank you for being a part of digitizing Arizona!
News regarding LICENSURE!
The Fifty-third Legislature in its Second Regular Session passed House Bill 2256. As of August 3, 2018, the jurisprudence examination covering state statutes and rules is no longer a requirement for obtaining a license to practice podiatry in Arizona. The board shall issue a license to practice podiatry to every applicant who meets the qualifications of licensure, pays the required fees, and furnishes satisfactory proof of successful completion of a residency program.
As you no longer have to submit your applications at least ninety days before the date of the two jurisprudence examinations that were previously administered each year, you may begin your application process at any time so long as the application can be administratively completed within 360 days of submission. This means that any deficiencies (including submission of a residency certificate) must be addressed within 360 days of the submission of the application. Incomplete license applications are closed on the 360th day after submission and approved license applications with outstanding fees are closed 12 months after the date of application.
For information regarding additional licensure requirements, please read the Arizona State Board of Podiatry Examiners statutes and rules.