News regarding LICENSURE!

Smiley faces on toes
March 9, 2022

The Fifty-third Legislature in its Second Regular Session passed House Bill 2256.  As of August 3, 2018, the jurisprudence examination covering state statutes and rules is no longer a requirement for obtaining a license to practice podiatry in Arizona. The board shall issue a license to practice podiatry to every applicant who meets the qualifications of licensure, pays the required fees, and furnishes satisfactory proof of successful completion of a residency program. 

As you no longer have to submit your applications at least ninety days before the date of the two jurisprudence examinations that were previously administered each year, you may begin your application process at any time so long as the application can be administratively completed within 360 days of submission. This means that any deficiencies (including submission of a residency certificate) must be addressed within 360 days of the submission of the application.  Incomplete license applications are closed on the 360th day after submission and approved license applications with outstanding fees are closed 12 months after the date of application. 

For information regarding additional licensure requirements, please read the Arizona State Board of Podiatry Examiners statutes and rules.